Login
03 October 2014
NQ Carparking Feedback

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Mark Barrett <Mark.Barrett@fife.gov.uk>
Date: 29 September 2014 10:46
Subject: RE: Car parking in North Queendsferry
To: Lin Collis <lin.collis@gmail.com>
Cc: "Cllr. Mike .Shirkie" <Cllr.Mike.Shirkie@fife.gov.uk>, Cllr Douglas Chapman <Cllr.Douglas.Chapman@fife.gov.uk>, Ian Jones <Ian.Jones@fife.gov.uk>, Sandra Montador-Stewart <Sandra.Montador-Stewart@fife.gov.uk>
 

Lin

When Network Rail submit a planning application for their proposed Forth Bridge Visitor Experience (FBVE) it will have to be accompanied by a Transport Assessment.

The Transport Assessment will consider the impact of the proposed development on the local road and transport network and recommend remedial measures. The cost of the remedial measures will be borne by Network Rail. However, Network Rail are well aware of local concerns and are being encouraged to promote the use of sustainable modes of transport – walking, cycling and public transport. For example, improving the pedestrian route between the railway station and the Forth Bridge; use of the replacement overspill car park/Ferrytoll P ‘n’ R with a regular free shuttle bus, and provision of disabled parking spaces only at the Forth Bridge.

One of the scenarios being considered by the transport consultant, CH2MHill on behalf of the Forth Bridge Forum, is the Forth Bridge being awarded World Heritage Status, but with the FBVE does not proceeding. Fife Council has advised the transport consultant that it is clear that even a modest increase in trips will lead to road and pedestrian safety issues within North Queensferry, particularly on the narrowest section of Main Street between Battery Road and Kirk Road, and has recommended that potential solutions for car based trips to the potential World Heritage site be located on the periphery of the village. I understand the final transport appraisal report will not be available until November.

Fife Council does not have any proposal to provide additional public car parking within North Queensferry.

Thanks.

Mark Barrett

Lead Officer Transportation Development Management (South Fife)

Enterprise, Planning & Protective Services

Fife House

Kingdom House

Kingdom Avenue

Glenrothes

KY7 5LY

 

site map | cookie policy | privacy policy